2017 Nobel Prize in Medicine goes to 3 Americans who Discover “Biological Watch”

Nobel Prize, Biological Watch

The winners have explained “how plants, animals, and humans have adapted their biological rhythm” to “synchronize it with the rotations of the Earth”, which is understood as the “Biological Watch.”

US scientists Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young will receive the 2017 Nobel Prize for Medicine for their “discoveries of the molecular mechanisms that control the circadian rhythm,” the Nobel laureate at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm announced Monday.

The winners have explained “how plants, animals, and humans have adapted their biological rhythm” to “synchronize it with Earth rotations”, which is understood as the “biological watch”, and applies to both jet lag transatlantic travel as the chlorophilic function of plants.

This watch adapts our physiology “drastically” to the different phases of the day, the so-called circadian cycle, regulating behavior to hormone levels, body temperature or metabolism, explained the jury in its ruling.

The winners isolated the gene that controls the daily biological rhythm by encoding a protein that accumulates in the cells at night and degrades during the day.

In addition, they identified additional components of proteins that influence the internal clock of cells, notes the Swedish Institute’s argument.

Hall was born in New York in 1945 and holds degrees from the American University of Maine; Rosbash did it in Kansas in 1944 and is in Waltham, while his compatriot Youg, born in 1949 in Miami, is in New York Rockefeller University.

Last year, the Karolinska Institute distinguished the Japanese Yoshinori Ohsumi for discovering the mechanisms of autophagy, the basic process of degradation and recycling of cellular components and of great importance in many physiological phenomena.

The prize is worth SEK 9 million ($ 1.1 million), to be distributed among the winners, after this year the Foundation raised a number of Nobel awards for the first time in five years.

The announcement of the Nobel Prize in Medicine will be followed by those of Physics and Chemistry, Tuesday, and Wednesday, while on Thursday will be announced Literature, on Friday of the Peace and the following Monday the Economy.

All the prizes are made known in Stockholm, with the exception of Peace, which fails and delivers in Oslo at the express wish of the Swedish prize magnate Alfred Nobel (1833-1896), since Norway was then part of the Kingdom of Sweden.

The prizes are awarded on 10 December, coinciding with the anniversary of Nobel’s death, in a double ceremony at the Konserthus in Stockholm and at the Oslo City Hall.

Featured Image Credit: Star Tribune

For more Trending Stories like this, Follow Us on Social Media – FacebookTwitter & Google+

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *